OAUIFE Geology Department wins 2016 Africa Region Imperial Barrel Award

Group Photo (L-R): Dr. Ola Alao (3rd) – IBA Faculty Advisor; Dr. Solomon Adekola (4th) – HOD Geology; Prof. Remi Ogunfowokan (5th) – Dean, Faculty of Science representing the Vice Chancellor; Dr. Wasiu Odufisan, FNAPE (6th) – Africa Region IBA Coordinator; Prof. S. B. Ojo (7th) – Geophysics Program; Other Staff of the Department; 2016 OAU IBA Team medalists (Gaius Ayobami, John Akindulureni, Timothy Tella, Ayobami Abegunrin and Vincent Mgbakogu) – Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria Winner of the 2016 AAPG-Africa Region Imperial Barrel Award


Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife through its Department of Geology won this year’s American Association of Petroleum Geologists Africa Region Imperial Barrel Award (IBA) championship held in Cairo, Egypt on April 12, 2016. The medals were presented to the IBA team on the campus of the university on April 25, 2016 by Prof. Tale Omole, Vice Chancellor of the university, represented by Prof. Remi Ogunfowokan, Dean, Faculty of Science in the presence of Dr. Solomon Adekola, Head of Department of Geology; Prof. S.B. Ojo, Geophysics Program; Dr. Ola Alao, IBA Faculty Advisor; Dr. Dele Falebita, and other staff of the Department. The occasion was witnessed by Dr. Wasiu Odufisan, AAPG-Africa Region IBA Coordinator. OAU will be representing Africa Region in the Global Championship in Calgary, June 18, 2016. The common message from the university leadership is appreciating the support of the leadership of AAPG Africa Region, and urging the OAU IBA team to win the 1st place medal in the global championship this year.